Buckling Down: The Search for Partners

It’s been over a month since I’ve posted. This semester has been pretty difficult as far as time management goes, but that isn’t so important in the context of Feeding Walid. What is important is what I have learned from this semester and the constant onslaught of “stuff” that amounts itself insurmountably. I cannot complete this project alone. I always knew that Feeding Walid would have to be a cumulative effort, if for the simple fact that I have no experience doing this type of work. Yet, in the back of my head, I think there was always a part of me that thought that I could do this by myself. Almost all of my major achievements have been accomplished with, at most, the limited assistance of others. I thought that I could repeat that process for Feeding Walid, and I have been humbled in that regard.

Now, this is my present state of mind. I need people willing to lend a hand more so than their pocketbooks. I am looking for people on my campus who may have the knowledge I need to finally get this project off the ground and headed down a meaningful direction, but I need people just like me as much as I need “experts.” If you are reading this post, and you are willing to go above and beyond to provide for a boy that has no one else to provide for him, then I hope that you will be willing to shoot me an email, a Facebook message, or even a comment down below.

I will not succeed if I do not have the help of others. Walid will not receive the education he deserves if others are not willing to assist. It is as plain as that. More so then anything else concerning this project, I want to prove that anyone can impart lasting positive change on someone else’s life. Right now, I have the opportunity to elevate Walid above a life of abject poverty and suffering that is his future because of his past. I am now extending that opportunity to you. Yes, if you are reading this you can help. Do not think that you are incapable. If life has taught us anything, it is that the ability of the human condition and human spirit is perpetually underestimated. I will now do my part, I will devote more of my ephemeral time to this project in the face of my insurmountable workload, in the hope of having you join this cause. Rather it is to donate, or the encourage others to donate and join Feeding Walid, you are the difference. You will make this project succeed. I hope you will join me. Let’s prove together that anyone can affect change, even if, at the moment, that change will be for just one boy a continent away. Maybe one day we can work together to expand our ability outwards to others, but for now, I start with Walid, and I hope that you will too.

Email: chase.harpole@uky.edu

Feeding Walid Facebook page

The donations page

Leave a Reply

